The town of Deer

On the outskirts of Osaka is the small town of Nara, nestled next to a huge park of the friendliest and funniest deer you’d ever hope to meet. Forget animal cafes, these are the real deal, wild yet friendly deer.

You can buy a pack of biscuits fit for their consumption from various vendors in the park for a reasonable ¥150, and as soon as you are spotted with them, the deer will make a beeline (or should I say deerline) for you.

This cheeky fella followed me for at least 10 minutes nudging me, politely inquiring whether the biscuits were for him. So giving in, we shared a picnic on the grassy slopes, discussing the weather and the political climate.

Nara is a great day out from Osaka, but I actually stayed there for a few nights to get the city air out of my lungs. I fancied another mountain climb, and Nara can provide for those with such urges with its own Mt Wakakusa, accessible from Nara park, and after a hot woodland ascent, you are rewarded with a panoramic view of Osaka and Nara, even as far as Kyoto to the north.

After departing Nara, I took a local train to Kyoto to get my final Shinkansen bullet train to Tokyo. This section of rail treats you to inspiring views of the mountain country, and I was lucky enough to be treated to a glimpse of the iconic Mt Fuji as I left the west of Japan behind.

Leave a comment